PDA

View Full Version : Ruby

Syberg
01-20-2015, 05:08 PM
After a few years from not successful try to learn c++ as first language (I know!) I have decided to start myself off with something easier. Somehow Ruby caught my eye (maybe because I like Japan?) and just yesterday decided to learn it. For my surprise it is so easy to understand everything! As far as I am it is as easy as html code that I was learning three years ago... It might be because I didn't even finish the 20 minutes tutorial that Ruby website gives, but maybe the language is really that easy?
Anyone else used Ruby as their first language? Is it really as easy as it looks?

Brennanber
01-20-2015, 06:07 PM
Its good to know people like you are getting your priorities straight and doing what you want to do!:)

Syberg
01-21-2015, 09:46 PM
So for another day with Ruby I would say it is getting easier. Maybe it just looks like that for me because I have some experiences with C, but it is not something extremely difficult to use if you have a good tutorial before your eyes.
Talking about tutorials, still haven't finished 20 minutes guide from official website, instead found another, maybe better, but not so known website that has quite a lot of functions, lessons are written on the left, you can input code on the right and see it on the right as well! It is pretty cool in my opinion, saves time. Thought, maybe not that useful if you want to know what you are doing with normal editor... But well, everything seems to be going really good to me so far! I don't even have real questions! (Well, unless wanting to know what actually add "def" is question? But that will be for google, somehow I feel that it adds methods?)

Its good to know people like you are getting your priorities straight and doing what you want to do!:)
I was thinking about getting on programming track again for a while now, but only recently I became obsessed with that idea... So far no regrets about coming back!

Lenz
01-22-2015, 03:52 AM