PDA

View Full Version : Programing Language?

Starclopsofish
09-24-2008, 03:14 AM
So I'm a sophomore in college now and I still have no idea what I want to do for a living. After a few years of just thinking my profession will fall out of the sky and hit me on the head, I've determined it's time to take action. I'm going to start what I've come to call "Aggressive Sampling", meaning I'm going to figure out what I want to do by really getting into/learning about some of the things I might be interested in before I have to declare a major in two semesters.

One area of interest for me is programming. I've dabbled a bit in C++ in the past, and I've recently picked up a C book. After reading a couple books and trolling on forums, I'm even more confused that when I started about which language I should learn.

I was thinking C at first because it's supposedly fairly easy to become (comparitively) competent in. Also, a lot of open source apps I'm into are written in C. But I get the impression that the (is it functional?) model of programing in C is an outdated paridigm. But then again, from what people have said, C++ is an extremely complex language, maybe not suitable for my first.

Then there's Java. Is that a good choice? Anyway, thanks for any advice in advance!

sphair
09-24-2008, 06:53 AM
If your goal is to learn *programming* the language itself doesn't matter much, the same concept goes into most languages. Once you handle one language well, it is normally quite easy to learn the next.

Perhaps C and C++ aren't the easiest languages to start with, as they got some fundamental concepts that can be hard to grasp and get right - pointers especially.

Java and .NET languages (C# being more like C++ than VB.Net) are maybe an easier place to start, as they try to hide away some of the underlying mechanics like pointers.