PDA

View Full Version : Dialog System?

rgrwkmn
10-27-2008, 07:41 AM
I was wondering if there is a system in Novashell for creating, storing and accessing dialogs, specifically rpg-style back and forth chatter and response selections. I've checked out the selection dialog special entity and would like to learn more but I can't find the source code and Seth hasn't gotten to the documentation yet!

...so I went ahead and set up my own system for dialog. I have the dialog for each character saved in a nested table with dialog branches that hold leafs for each piece of dialog. The player must meet requirements for each branch as well as each leaf. It's easy for my getDlg function to determine which leaf is supposed to come up each time the player interacts with a character. I'll probably set up a simple html/javascript interface to edit dialogs and generate the tables because I'm a web developer and could do it quickly that way.

If there is nothing like this in place or planned for Novashell I'm willing to share the code. Once I've tested it out and make sure it does everything I need I'll post it up here for suggestions.

Seth
10-29-2008, 04:08 AM
The dialog special entity is pretty bare-bones, writing your own system for a dialog/GUI intensive game is probably a good idea.

If there is nothing like this in place or planned for Novashell I'm willing to share the code.

Cool :)

rgrwkmn
11-01-2008, 11:37 PM
I'm at a point where I need to modify the code for the ChoiceDialog special entity. Where can I find this?

Seth
11-02-2008, 01:48 AM
It's EntChoiceDialog.x and EntChoiceDialog.cpp.

Hint for next time: Scan the source code for the word ChoiceDialog. ;)

If you don't have a way to do that, figure one out, it's invaluable! And will show you the other places that need to be modified to add a NEW custom class that can be initted by script if that's the route you end up going.