PDA

View Full Version : Hello! I am new and have some question

fdaniels
05-13-2009, 03:36 PM
Hello everyone, my name is Frank and I am new to the forums. I've been an hobbyist game developer for a while now. I mostly do silly projects during my spare time. I've only worked on text and simple 2d games thus far.

This is a long post so bear with me. :)

The last few years I've been evaluating different game engines, while at the same time tinkering with my own game design ideas. I only found Novashell recently and I must say that I am VERY impressed. Seriously, this is probably one of the best 2d game engines out there. Definitely the best free one. So, before let me just say .... Thank you for sharing this amazing system with the rest of the us! I had a look at other games made by Seth and was amazed at the projects that he worked on. Dink Smallwood was one of my favourite games back in the day, in fact is still installed on one of my computers :D. Legend of the Red Dragon is another legendary (heehee) title.

Questions:

Where can I find details of the map format? I am considering developing the map in an external editor (just for gfx placements) and then switching back to novashell to tweak scripts, paths, collision attributes, etc.

I was working on modifying Tiled, an open source map editor. For easier terrain drawing I was implementing automatic tile transitions. It is working so-so, but there are still some bugs that I need to iron out. Though, it would probably be better if I built this feature into Novashell's world editor instead.

Have you ever considered an asset manager, or is there one already built into the world editor? What I mean is this ... Being able to load up an asset, e.g. a house, then to set that assets collision polygon and default attributes and then to be able to commit those changes to file. This way if I need that asset on a different map, or in another project then those attributes will already be set for me.