PDA

View Full Version : BioTux, Is it possible?

NinjaNumberNine
10-14-2009, 05:38 PM
I have wanted to make a clone of SuperTux (http://supertux.lethargik.org/screenshots.html) for a long time, but I was learning programming very slowly. Then I saw NovaShell. I WAS HOOKED. Right away I started drawing the graphics and sprite images. However, when I tried to follow the Dragon Eggs tutorial on the site (substituting the art for my own as much as possible, that's probably where the problem lies) I could not get the "entity" to move at all. :eek: I checked everything I could think of, but I only succeeded in getting more messed up than ever. I have a couple questions about NovaShell:

Can you make a "world map" that has a road and such that a small penguin could 'walk' along it and turn into a side path, press enter and be in a 2d platform level?
Can you create a *.exe file from the game so that you don't have to install the complete Novashell development environment to play it?
What's the easiest way to create a *.xml file? And how do I deal with the *.TGA files?
Are you (assuming Seth Robinson reads this) too busy to help occasionaly on this project? All I really need is to learn how to make an entity and make it move.

By the way, the program looks great. Thanks for an excellent product. I just need to learn how to use it right and I can do WONDERS... ;)

My favorite thing is the "physics" effect, and my favorite built-in game is Tree World. That's the kind of platformer that BioTux will be.

If you want to know more about the project, follow this link, please.

http:
//ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1290670 (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1290670)

Oh, and I use Windows for NovaShell, but I am designing the program for Ubuntu/Linux users. Do NovaShell games work well in Linux? :confused:

Once again, thanks for the great product. And remember, for anyone else here,''BioTux need contributors!'' :D

Seth
10-15-2009, 01:01 AM