PDA

View Full Version : Game design warmup

TSO
05-12-2010, 10:22 PM
Starting to design something more personal using steps and example levels provided now.

Want to make use of the troll and 'man' or 'player' animation from treeRPG i think it was.
Troll_up animation I plan to use as one team.
and I got the man or 'player' animation I was gona turn into a 2nd team.
Both NPC's

To start, I'm using the dragon patrol script that I plan to adapt so the teams follow a main road until they meet the other team.
Target each other rather then the player.
Or at least the player secondary once the current target is defeated.

I'm still learning and adjusting to lua.
Using the first tutorial on way points I was going to make a test path with one entity each side of the path meeting approximately center.
So I started by copy&paste patrol script in the .lua in the troll and quickly leave edit mode to see it move along the way points but it's just standing there.

it worked pretty well instantly on dragon eggs so it confused me why it happened.

A copy of my files. any suggestions or patterns to look for in lua will be appreciated.
http://apps.facebook.com/files/shared/ayvcvm8gxc

EDIT: Found my mistake. Forgot entity name. Pretty obvious. Other day my head was really cloudy but making good progress today.

Got waypoints numbered now. odd numbers heading right and even numbers on the left.
Both entities connect at point0. and works perfectly.
Will adjust so they got teams and instead of depending on the 0 point, seek each other out when they crossing paths.

Since this is a first design idea though. I'd like to keep some of my progress on the forum so that a history of what I'm trying to do can be seen and improvements made or suggested.

Thank you for any who took time to read. or help =)

TSO
05-14-2010, 04:58 PM
I scraped the design I was starting with because I understood how to work the path finding and entity name.