PDA

View Full Version : Including Accessibility into clanlib

jaffar
05-16-2014, 02:05 AM
Hi. My Name is Jaffar. I am a blind programmer/software developer from Singapore and I specialize in c++ and Java programming. While browsing through WikiPaedia, I came across the ClanLib game engine, and because I am now in the process of writing a game and Out of curiosity, I downloaded it, and from what I've observed after trying it, I find that it is the most intuitive of all the game engines I've tried so far. Now, as I said before, I am a blind computer programmer/user and I navigate my computer, the web and other apps through the use of a Screen reader software which, if standard texts and windows controls are present, will speak them out to me. I see a great potential in clanlib, and I am wondering if accessibility via screen readers can be implemented into ClanLib. Just to put in into perspective, I compiled and ran the Sound sample earlier. From the code, I noticed that there are buttons and a combo box. Yet my screen reader can't access those as it might in say, ms office or ms visual studio because the texts are not spoken due to them not being standard windows output. I would think that a little adjustment can be made to for example, the layout.xml resource file so that my screen reader can see the text on screen. If you guys don't mind, i'll be happy to help and take a major role in developing accessibility and implementing it into ClanLib. Thanks for a great game engine.

moogtrain
05-16-2014, 04:56 AM
Hi. Welcome to ClanLib. I'm deeply interested in the idea, but I'm not familiar with tools used by the blind for programming, and I've relied on my vision so much I can't think of a single instance where I'm use my ears as I program things. I'm sure the others here are unfamiliar with the concept as well. Can you describe more about how you would write a program and the accessbility tools that you would need on this framework?

jaffar
05-16-2014, 05:26 AM