Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: How to script an opening sequence

  1. #1

    Default How to script an opening sequence

    I would like to know a few different techniques for creating the opening sequence (displaying credits) for a new project as well as a "push anywhere" to continue entity (start menu).

    For the first, my attempt was copying the loony ladders, where I created an invisible button "PlayOpeningMovie", and using FakeClickAnEntity with a delay timer, get what I am after, but I got a button clicking sound I don't want as I jump between screens.

    OpeningCredits->OpeningMovie->TitleScreen.

    OpeningCredits::OpeningCreditsOnSelect Method:

    if (pEntCLicked->GetName() == "PlayOpeningMovie")
    {
    DisableAllButtonsEntity(PentClicked->GetParent());
    OpeningMovie::OpeningMovieCreate(pEntCLicked0_GetP arent()->GetParent());
    return;
    }
    For the second question, I created a file the same size as my screen resolution, converted it to .rttex, and made a CreateOverlayButtonEntity and set its color to MAKE_RGBA(0,0,0,0). But I wasn't sure if that was the right approach as far as memory and speed is concerned with loading the large file just to achieve this hack.

    pEnt = CreateOverlayButtonEntity(pBG, "GoToTitleScreen", "interface/TransparencyImage.rttex", (GetScreenSizeXf() / 2), (GetScreenSizeYf() / 2));
    SetAlignmentEntity(pEnt, ALIGNMENT_CENTER);
    pEnt->GetVar("color")->Set(MAKE_RGBA(0, 0, 0, 0));
    pEnt->GetShared()->GetFunction("OnButtonSelected")->sig_function.connect(&OpeningMovieOnSelect);
    Are there better ways to do what I am trying to do?
    Last edited by atuca; 10-23-2014 at 04:50 AM.

  2. #2

    Default

    Answer to my first question:

    //at your app Init()
    SetDefaultAudioClickSound("");


    //or on your entities you want to ignore the sound.
    SetButtonClickSound(pEnt, "");

    plays no sound on a button click since you provide it with no sound.
    Last edited by atuca; 10-23-2014 at 08:23 PM.

  3. #3
    Administrator Seth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Japan
    Posts
    5,343

    Default

    Sorry for the slow reply, but yep, you got it.
    Seth A. Robinson
    Robinson Technologies

  4. #4
    Master Sorcerer SFM2025's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    United Arab Emirates
    Posts
    1,589

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Seth View Post
    Sorry for the slow reply, but yep, you got it.
    Seth what is Proton SDK?
    YouTube: iPadGameWalkthrough
    Tanked: SFM

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SFM2025 View Post
    Seth what is Proton SDK?
    You are in the wrong neighborhood...

    Anyways if you did a simple google search Proton SDK (aka p+) is a free and open source component based C++ framework with its own touch-optimized GUI system that is optimized for GL/GLES based cross-platform app/game development.

    Its a fancy source development kit that allows you to make apps/games easier in some aspects.

Similar Threads

  1. Fibonacci Sequence [FORUMS CHALLENGE]
    By Air Server in forum RTsoft Tavern
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-09-2014, 09:18 AM
  2. Problem with /top WOTD winners sequence!
    By Inner in forum Bugs & Glitches
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-24-2014, 12:57 PM
  3. script
    By najimac in forum RTsoft Tavern
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-08-2013, 06:37 PM
  4. Is there a way to preload a sequence of sounds?
    By lampcord in forum Official ClanLib SDK Forums
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-06-2012, 06:27 PM
  5. Script loading sequence
    By bullno1 in forum Novashell Game Creation System
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-03-2008, 12:23 PM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •