Thread: I can't code

Unhappy I can't code

To say I'm no coder would have to be an understatement. The last time I tried to actually code a game was back on the Commodore 64... and well the less I say about that the better.

I'm trying to create a commercial game, but after a lot of frustration it looks like I'm going to have to ask for help. Hopefully once I'm up to the actual gameplay aspect it'll be easy enough for me to build off of the already great examples provided with NovaShell.

What I have so far, is the opening logo, intro, and the title.
    I was successful to this point by going back over the tutorial, reading the scripting reference, and exploring the examples. But ultimately I seem to be hopeless at scripting. What I was able to do is make it so if you press escape, you'll skip past the intro to the title screen.

What needs to be done,
    I want it so if you push space on the logo screen it'll jump to the intro, push space during the intro it'll jump to the title. And finally, for the title screen I want space to jump to Main and unbind itself so it can be reassigned for shooting in-game.

It is great I got escape to take the player right to the title, but now if they then press escape on the title screen I want a dialogue to pop up asking them if they are sure if they want to quit the game. Also in game, when they are playing I want pressing escape to pop up a dialogue asking them if they are sure they want to quit to the title screen.

Any help would be great, so I have attached my game.
    Attached Files Attached Files

Hey Cobra,

That's an excellent intro, can't wait to see it with audio.

First, playing with your intro helped me to find some bugs with world loading/unloading... you should upgrade to the latest version for my scripts to work right. (I just put one up ten minutes ago)