Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 21

Thread: Anybody want to beta test my Growtopia Music Simulator?

  1. #1
    Master Sorcerer MyLegGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    1,631

    Question Anybody want to beta test my Growtopia Music Simulator?

    I'm going to say what the title just said!
    Anybody want to beta test my Growtopia Music Simulator?

    I'll only let uh... 3 people beta test it.
    Not sure more than three people will even want to do it.

    About



    Here's what you do in it, you place notes by clicking and then it plays them. I don't know what else there is to expect.
    It's 99% finished. All I need to do it fix any bugs that are reported. Then I can release it.

    It's written in java, so you need java to use it. (duh)
    You can use java 7 or 8. I have a version for both.
    It'll work on windows or mac.

    How to be one of the three beta testers


    All you have to do is be one of the first three people to post here. You just need to say you want to do it, and what version of java you're using. (If you're not sure, say 7)




    I posted this here because I don't want this thread to attract to much attention.
    This fits into game development because..uh...it's a "game" where you place notes.

    And if anybody want's to know, I got permission to use the music note sounds.
    But I didn't get permission to sell this for a world lock. Oh well.
    No making a few quick world locks for me.

  2. #2
    Master Sorcerer Mahmoud's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    i'm near lakes, ponds, and streams. because i'm a frog
    Posts
    7,990

    Default

    Yes I finally can make music testing with wasting world locks!!!
    Making Rainbows since 2014!

    What I do when I try to act as a hero against strong people.

    #MahmoudForGtFrog

  3. #3
    Master Sorcerer MyLegGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    1,631

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mahmoud View Post
    Yes I finally can make music testing with wasting world locks!!!
    Don't you mean, without wasting world locks?

    Anyway, does this mean you want to beta test?

  4. #4
    Master Sorcerer BioTestificate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Kasanagara Continent
    Posts
    3,096

    Default

    'll try.

    BTW, is that browser-based?
    ⬆ The first. The original. ⬆

    (┛ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)┛︵┗━┫



    NECROSYS_v4.1



    discord server


  5. #5
    Master Sorcerer Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    ::1
    Posts
    3,946

    Default

    Oh crap not java

    I think doing it in javascript might be laggy. since it will change values often.

    I might test it if you want. im using JDK 8
    Last edited by Conan; 07-14-2015 at 09:21 AM.

  6. #6
    Master Sorcerer Festivity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    1,649

    Default

    DONT LET CONAN TEST IT, I REPEAT, DONT LET CONAN TEST IT
    lemme use
    (jk choose either me or conan)


    "I'll get serious next year! - Doma Umaru"

    My Steam, feel free to add me:


    IGN: Festivity (quit already)

    My Growtopia Worlds: FESTIVEDARES, INCURSIALWORLD, JACKOCFARM, SENPAISHRINE, etc

    Thanks,
    Festivity!

  7. #7
    Master Sorcerer ezereal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    3,453

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MyLegGuy View Post
    I'm going to say what the title just said!
    Anybody want to beta test my Growtopia Music Simulator?

    I'll only let uh... 3 people beta test it.
    Not sure more than three people will even want to do it.

    About



    Here's what you do in it, you place notes by clicking and then it plays them. I don't know what else there is to expect.
    It's 99% finished. All I need to do it fix any bugs that are reported. Then I can release it.

    It's written in java, so you need java to use it. (duh)
    You can use java 7 or 8. I have a version for both.
    It'll work on windows or mac.

    How to be one of the three beta testers


    All you have to do is be one of the first three people to post here. You just need to say you want to do it, and what version of java you're using. (If you're not sure, say 7)




    I posted this here because I don't want this thread to attract to much attention.
    This fits into game development because..uh...it's a "game" where you place notes.

    And if anybody want's to know, I got permission to use the music note sounds.
    But I didn't get permission to sell this for a world lock. Oh well.
    No making a few quick world locks for me.
    I really want to make it happen, like make this program/invention possible, not sure what Java I am but I am willing to be you gunie pig ( cant spell it lol)
    Goals:

    1. 300/300 wls achieved
    2.300/3000 wls currently
    3. Focussed eyes 0/1
    4. p wings 0/1

  8. #8
    Master Sorcerer MyLegGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    1,631

    Default

    I wish it was browser based.

    I WAS going to make it an applet, but I learned that Google Chrome removed plugin support, then I learned that there's all the security prompts! Getting people to go past those, or making them trust me enough to get past those would be a lot of work. If I wanted to get rid of one of the security prompts (there was multiple) I would have to pay for a valid certificate or something to sign the applet. And I'm not going to pay for one of those just for my stupid music simulator. People are very lazy, and if some random guy told me to go to a website and disable security prompts, I would not go. But looking at what other people have mad, people will pretty much download anything as long as their anti-virus says it's okay.

    I'll send it to:
    BioTestificate, Conan, and ezereal.

    For those of you who didn't say your version of java, I'll send you the java 7 version. It'll work even if you have java 8.

    Make sure you check out the options, I have some cool stuff there.
    Also, this may be a bit laggy. It works fine on my computer, which has 4.00 GB (3.21 GB usable) of ram.

    Not Festivity because he said either him or Conan, but Conan posted first...and he said "either", so....

    Also, why all these posts at one time? I've had this thread up for a few days now... eh, whatever.

  9. #9
    Master Sorcerer Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    ::1
    Posts
    3,946

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MyLegGuy View Post
    I wish it was browser based.

    I WAS going to make it an applet, but I learned that Google Chrome removed plugin support, then I learned that there's all the security prompts! Getting people to go past those, or making them trust me enough to get past those would be a lot of work. If I wanted to get rid of one of the security prompts (there was multiple) I would have to pay for a valid certificate or something to sign the applet. And I'm not going to pay for one of those just for my stupid music simulator. People are very lazy, and if some random guy told me to go to a website and disable security prompts, I would not go. But looking at what other people have mad, people will pretty much download anything as long as their anti-virus says it's okay.

    I'll send it to:
    BioTestificate, Conan, and ezereal.

    For those of you who didn't say your version of java, I'll send you the java 7 version. It'll work even if you have java 8.

    Make sure you check out the options, I have some cool stuff there.
    Also, this may be a bit laggy. It works fine on my computer, which has 4.00 GB (3.21 GB usable) of ram.

    Not Festivity because he said either him or Conan, but Conan posted first...and he said "either", so....

    Also, why all these posts at one time? I've had this thread up for a few days now... eh, whatever.
    Hmmm...
    can you try reproducing this "bug" i got?

    everytime i reach the third page and start playing i cant pause it

    Also sometimes the audio doesn't play at the same time

  10. #10
    Master Sorcerer MyLegGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    1,631

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Conan View Post
    Hmmm...
    can you try reproducing this "bug" i got?

    everytime i reach the third page and start playing i cant pause it

    Also sometimes the audio doesn't play at the same time
    I can't reproduce that thing where you can't pause it on the third page. Can you take a video of it or something? Also, when you say third page, do you mean 3/15 or 2/15? (I'm asking this because you start at 0/15. This'll be change in the next beta or final release.)

    When you say the audio doesn't play at the same time, do you mean when the song is playing, or when your placing the notes?


    Also, when you start playing the song, should it start from the page you're currently on?

  11. #11
    Master Sorcerer
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    1,486

    Default

    I'd love to help. If this will be a success, I will put this in my signature.

  12. #12
    Master Sorcerer Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    ::1
    Posts
    3,946

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MyLegGuy View Post
    I can't reproduce that thing where you can't pause it on the third page. Can you take a video of it or something? Also, when you say third page, do you mean 3/15 or 2/15? (I'm asking this because you start at 0/15. This'll be change in the next beta or final release.)

    When you say the audio doesn't play at the same time, do you mean when the song is playing, or when your placing the notes?


    Also, when you start playing the song, should it start from the page you're currently on?
    It starts from the first page


    That 3/15 seems just a problem on my side


    When notes are in the same column some notes are delayed (When playing)

    lik the notes are missaligned

    BTW you used Growtopias music files. you should put credits in there lmao

  13. #13
    Master Sorcerer MyLegGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    1,631

    Default

    I compiled a new version. It makes it so the line thingie that shows where it is in the song is now there. Also the pages change as your playing. You now start at page 1/16 instead of 0/15.

    Sending it now...

    I said SHOULD it start at the page you are currently on when you start playing the song?
    It doesn't right now, but is it a good idea for it to?

    Also, when you say delayed, are we talking, miliseconds or seconds? Small delay or long one?

    And I just realized the beta I sent out does not have the code to load the options file. I deleted it by mistake. Oh well.


    If you like it, you can put this in your signature.

    It hurts my eyes, but it took me a while to make! So I'm using it!

    Also, I'm aiming for a release this Friday.


    Last note, if anybody wants to know what this would have been like as an applet, I compiled an applet version like a month ago. If you want to see all the trouble you would have to go through to get it working, here it is.
    Last edited by MyLegGuy; 07-14-2015 at 11:47 PM.

  14. #14
    Lesser Knight Doge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    42

    Default

    How do you code so good. kid genius

  15. #15
    Master Sorcerer MyLegGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    1,631

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Doge View Post
    How do you code so good. kid genius
    But....you didn't even..eh, whatever.

    Thanks.


    If anybody wants a specific feature to be included, please tell me. I've been begging my brother for ideas on stuff to add all day!

  16. #16
    Lesser Knight Doge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    42

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MyLegGuy View Post
    But....you didn't even..eh, whatever.

    Thanks.


    If anybody wants a specific feature to be included, please tell me. I've been begging my brother for ideas on stuff to add all day!
    Everyone says its good and u put screenshot. Idk how u code because its too advanced.

  17. #17
    Master Sorcerer MyLegGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    1,631

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Doge View Post
    Everyone says its good and u put screenshot. Idk how u code because its too advanced.
    Are you talking about my thingie that says "Comming June"?
    That's an advertisement for my signature!

  18. #18
    Master Sorcerer MyLegGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    1,631

    Default

    I may release today if I can't find any bugs and I like how everything is!

  19. #19

    Default

    Hey, is this still available? I would love to try them. I am looking for a music simulator and that might help me (you'll never know)! Can you provide more details about it?

  20. #20
    Master Sorcerer MyLegGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    1,631

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dannbarbery View Post
    Hey, is this still available? I would love to try them. I am looking for a music simulator and that might help me (you'll never know)! Can you provide more details about it?
    I'm sorry. You can't. And it won't be released today, like I planned. It'll be released two weeks from today. Sorry about that. I'll be on vacation from today, until two weeks from now's Sunday. And I want a Friday release.

    =============
    EDIT
    =============
    Change of plans!
    Release right now!
    Last edited by MyLegGuy; 07-18-2015 at 01:10 AM.

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •