Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Weird multiple initialization issue

  1. #1

    Default Weird multiple initialization issue

    So, on a lark, pulled up Novashell and started working through the tutorial again. I've noticed that the console log seems to indicate that entities are being initialized multiple times in a row. Also, I can't figure out how to copy and paste from the console.

    Hi my name is Player and I like romantic walks on the beach
    Hi my name is Player and I like romantic walks on the beach
    Hi my name is Player and I like romantic walks on the beach
    StandardBase of 319 (Player): Entity needs collision information to use StandardBase.
    Hi my name is Player and I like romantic walks on the beach
    Hi my name is Player and I like romantic walks on the beach
    Hi my name is Player and I like romantic walks on the beach
    StandardBase of 319 (Player): Entity needs collision information to use StandardBase.

    This happens as soon as I hit okay to reinitialize entities from the properties dialog. Mac OS X 10.6.8 running on a Macbook Pro.

  2. #2
    Administrator Seth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Japan
    Posts
    5,340

    Default

    This might not be a problem - when re-initializing an entity, several copies are made - and init stuff happens even in the copy versions, so a logging statement can do that if it's in the init. (Inits are needed to figure out how big the graphic it, etc.) Copies are made for the undo buffer and such.

    I'm not sure if copy and paste works in the console. I think Copy copies the entire console text (sort of a special situation).. paste may work.
    Seth A. Robinson
    Robinson Technologies

  3. #3

    Default

    I was going to post an issue with the tutorial vis-a-vis collision data, suddenly had a memory, and realized I had asked all these questions before when I was playing with the Linux version in 2008. Woah. Sorry about that Seth!

    By the by - did you ever ship a commercial game built on Novashell? I remember thinking that the eventually Dink followup was going to run on it, and shivering in anticipation.

Similar Threads

  1. GUI initialization made easier
    By sphair in forum Official ClanLib SDK Forums
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-01-2010, 03:05 PM
  2. How do I use multiple mice?
    By manxx in forum Official ClanLib SDK Forums
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-09-2009, 06:23 PM
  3. Multiple Targets with ClanLib 0.9
    By rombust in forum Official ClanLib SDK Forums
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-27-2009, 07:37 PM
  4. cl_sprite with multiple frames
    By dwune in forum Official ClanLib SDK Forums
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-29-2008, 08:49 AM
  5. Multiple window aplication
    By Leon in forum Official ClanLib SDK Forums
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-20-2008, 07:16 AM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •