Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: I'm working on Mac OS. Hit a problem, I'd be happy to code a fix, but one question

  1. #1
    Lesser Knight
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    52

    Default I'm working on Mac OS. Hit a problem, I'd be happy to code a fix, but one question

    Hi. I'm porting my game to Mac OS X. I know ClanLib only partially supports Mac OSX right now, but I'd be happy to try to help to get it into a state where it at least runs my game, haha.
    I'm getting a crash in GL3GraphicContextProvider::reset_frame_buffer(), on glBindFramebuffer(GL_FRAMEBUFFER, 0);.

    There is a comment above that line:
    // To do: move this to OpenGLWindowProvider abstraction (some targets doesn't have a default frame buffer)

    I'd be happy to do that and submit a patch. However, I'm not exactly sure what needs to be done. Do I need to add a "reset" to the OpenGLWindowProvider base class or something? Is there a design in mind for this?

    Also it looks like there is some Font work needed on the Mac side. I will try to fill out more of the Mac code (Similar to some of the stuff I recently submitted that was patched into 3.0.1) and submit a patch for that when I have something.
    And of course anything else I run into as I work on my Mac port.

  2. #2
    ClanLib Developer
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1,824

    Default

    I can't answer your question. I've never used a Mac

    Also see https://github.com/sphair/ClanLib/pull/5 ... for other OSX issues

    iirc from talk from a long time ago. it's the same as the answer given in this stackoverflow.com question http://stackoverflow.com/questions/1...ebuffer-in-ios

  3. #3
    Lesser Knight
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    52

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rombust View Post
    I can't answer your question. I've never used a Mac

    Also see https://github.com/sphair/ClanLib/pull/5 ... for other OSX issues

    iirc from talk from a long time ago. it's the same as the answer given in this stackoverflow.com question http://stackoverflow.com/questions/1...ebuffer-in-ios
    Thanks. I'll see what I can get working and submit any patches I come up with.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by rombust View Post
    I can't answer your question. I've never used a Mac

    Also see https://github.com/sphair/ClanLib/pull/5 ... for other OSX issues

    iirc from talk from a long time ago. it's the same as the answer given in this stackoverflow.com question http://stackoverflow.com/questions/1...ebuffer-in-ios
    By the way, do you know who on the forums did what Mac stuff there is?

  4. #4
    ClanLib Developer
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1,824

    Default

    I don't know. Somebody else might know.

    As far as I know, nobody is currently working on ClanLib Mac OS.

  5. #5
    Master Sorcerer Edwardson97's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Jupiter
    Posts
    3,085

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rombust View Post
    I can't answer your question. I've never used a Mac

    Also see https://github.com/sphair/ClanLib/pull/5 ... for other OSX issues

    iirc from talk from a long time ago. it's the same as the answer given in this stackoverflow.com question http://stackoverflow.com/questions/1...ebuffer-in-ios
    2007 really? Also good luck on beating Seth on his post!

  6. #6
    ClanLib Developer
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    554

    Default

    The Mac port for ClanLib 3 is incomplete, as you've noticed.

    Part of the code originates from an experimental iOS port of ClanLib that I did and the "no default frame buffer" comment applies to OpenGL ES on iOS. I'm not sure if it applies to OS X as well - I can't really remember. The font code is also from that iOS port and has some problems with baseline alignment. Your crash is more likely that the OpenGL binding failed somehow and glBindFramebuffer is a null pointer. Why that would suddenly fail I do not now - last time I did some testing the Mac version did manage to display something.

    There's mainly two problems with finishing the port:

    1) ClanLib is rather large and lots of functionality like basic window geometry management and input handling is still not fully ported. Doing it alone is a lot of work!

    2) Cocoa, and in particular Cocoa Touch, are not very compatible with the way ClanLib wants to run the main run loop. ClanLib assumes it can poll UI messages (KeepAlive::process), while the default model of Cocoa is to call NSApplicationMain and then that function never returns until the program exits. This can be workarounded for Cocoa, but afair there are no official ways to do it with Cocoa Touch's UIApplicationMain function. How other polling based systems get away with doing it anyway I'm not sure - I suspect some nasty hack.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-26-2010, 10:52 PM
  2. A General VC 2008 Question/Problem
    By catch22 in forum Official ClanLib SDK Forums
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-06-2009, 09:50 PM
  3. I can't code
    By Cobra in forum Novashell Game Creation System
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-30-2008, 07:12 AM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •