Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Memory Leaks

  1. #1
    Guest

    Default

    When I run FQ for an extended numebr of days, as in it's been online for 15 dyas straight with no restart....

    The available FREE memory starts at 1.6GB and at 15 days is down to 640MB....

    If I stop FQ and restart FQ, then I go back to 1.6GB free.... so, it's got to be FQ with the memory leak...

    not a good thing

    currently FQ server is taking over 1GB of RAM on my server... as soon as I can find a time when there are no players, I will stop and restart it...

    Normally it takes about 10-12 MB

  2. #2
    Administrator Seth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Japan
    Posts
    5,343

    Post

    Yikes.

    If you minimize and maximize does this make any difference?

    I'll check it for memory leaks. I have run Boundschecker on it in the past and it was clean, but you never know.

    Has anyone else noticed this behavior?
    Seth A. Robinson
    Robinson Technologies

  3. #3

    Default

    do you get quite a bit of traffic to the server?

  4. #4

    Default

    I have noticed this I only have a 128 stick in my server and when I first start it up I am at about 78megs when I hit midnight it goes to 12megs and goes back up to 18 till I reset it

    I have about 100 users on it right now

  5. #5
    Guest

    Default

    Seth,

    To answer your question (and sorry it has been a few months) but I get about 200+ logins per day to the server... so it stays rather busy.. I have never seen more than about 12-15 online at one time

    But when I start the server, it shows over 1.5GB of RMA free and as the days go by , eventually it keeps dropping until sometimes I see it with 500K or less available... then I have to stop FQ and restart FQ and then the available memeory goes back to 1.6GB.

    If I go tot he Task Manager when I first start FQ, it shouws about 12-15MB of RAM being used.... then after many days it shows 430MB and eventually it shows that FQServer is using 1.5GB+ ... so only makes sense it's the FQ server... I see this on 2 different servers that I run....

  6. #6
    Knight
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Chicago, IL USA
    Posts
    60

    Default

    I too have had a memory leak problem.  The longer the FQ server was running, the less free memory I had available.

    In desperation I moved FQ to a different computer, and I have not had the problem since.

  7. #7
    Administrator Seth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Japan
    Posts
    5,343

    Talking

    Hmm, I am not able to duplicate the memory leaks here yet, that's interesting that the memory leaks cleared up after moving to a new computer, any major differences between those?

    Really I need to setup a real FQ game here that gets lots of use to properly test it but being in Japan makes the ping pretty bad for players which is why I haven't. :/

    My test server is running on XP btw.
    Seth A. Robinson
    Robinson Technologies

  8. #8
    Knight
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Chicago, IL USA
    Posts
    60

    Default

    There isn't any major difference between computer #1 and computer #2, at least not anything I can think to mention...

  9. #9
    Knight
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Chicago, IL USA
    Posts
    60

    Exclamation Memory Leak Update

    Last night, FQ ran maintenance at midnight and deleted about 130 players. When it was done running maintenance, FQ was down to 7 MB of free memory -- a huge decrease over the several undred megs of free memory it was reporting before (I always thought the number seemed low to begin with). Anyway, seems like maintenance is tied to the memory leak problem. I closed and re-started FQ and everything was back to normal.

  10. #10
    Administrator Seth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Japan
    Posts
    5,343

    Default

    Very interesting. I will run some tests deleting hundreds of accounts, thanks.
    Seth A. Robinson
    Robinson Technologies

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •