Seth,

first of all, thanks again for preparing the release of the Dink source code!

I had a look at the license, and I'd like to give you some feedback on what I think about it-- I'm not a lawyer, though, so what I say may be inaccurate or even completely stupid.

While it is written in a style that makes it very readable and polite, I'm having some trouble distinguishing comments, examples, recommendations and actually legally binding parts... I'll go into detail in individual parts below.

> This software is provided "as is" without express or implied
> warranties. You may freely copy and compile this source into
> applications you distribute provided that the copyright text
> below is included in the resulting source code, for example:
> "Portions Copyright \x{00A9} Seth A. Robinson, 1997-2003
>
> You may use this source in personal and commercial products, you
> are not required to release the source code.
>
> This is kind of like the zlib license but with some extra words
> below to protect Dink itself from being exploited for profit.

This part is very clear and very liberal.

The following parts are, apparently, just comments (not a part of the license, more like stuff some people put into README files).

> *** CLARIFICATIONS AND INFO ***
[...]
> *** HOW TO COMPILE AND TEST ***
[...]
> *** GETTING HELP ***
[...]
> *** ABOUT THE DINK SOURCE ***
[...]

The next part is the one I'm confused by. Some of the questions I'll ask below (particularly in places where many questions arise) may sound negative, possibly even a bit hostile if looked at from the wrong angle (I'm not a native English speaker and, thus, don't always get the more subtle meanings of certain words right). I assure you, they are not; they're meant as constructive criticism to the license.

> *** PROTECTING THE DINK SMALLWOOD NAME AND MEDIA FROM BEING EXPLOITED ***
>
> If you want to fix bugs and release "Jeff's Dink.exe that works better", please do.

Suggestion/Comment.