Thread: Render targets

Lightbulb Render targets

Hey there,

I am new to ClanLib, so I guess this may be a simple question: are there render targets in ClanLib?
    I mean, I don't even know if render targets are a concept in OpenGL, but in HGE [Haaf's Game Engine] I used it frequently for drawing off-screen sprites.

What I want to do is blend a few sprites together off the screen (because the pixels in-screen would interfere with the process), and then render the result in the screen. I suppose it has something to do with frame buffers/graphic contexts, but I'm not quite sure, so I just need a little light here.

Besides, I would like to thank you for this great engine. I don't know how stable it is yet, but it has been surprisingly good so far. Looking at all this code makes me understand why you don't have a great documentation: you must have spent a LOT of time working on this. So congratulations for you developers, and thank you for making it free.
    Last edited by Aleksander Luiz; 06-04-2014 at 02:35 AM.

ClanLib Developer

ClanLib uses "FrameBuffers" to render off screen images.

So you can create a framebuffer of a specified size to render an image to.

See ClanLib\Examples\Display_Render\Canvas.

Unfortunately ClanLib will not be getting documentation in the near future. Everybody is too busy.

The problem with ClanLib, and it's downfall ... it's too big! It tries to fix all problems in the developing environment.

With hindsight, that's a fatal mistake.

This discourages new developers. There are not enough developers to maintain the existing code base.

It's not easy to turn back the clock. I personally see potential in each ClanLib component.

Off topic, but i'd suggest - without investigating:

1) Drop clanPhysics2D. Instead have an example that uses Box2D. Nobody is maintaining it or using it, as far as I know
    2) Drop the CSS component of clanGUI. Have CSS component as a plugin, on top of clanGUI.