PDA

View Full Version : PC drive help



iStolen
12-24-2015, 07:12 PM
Okay, so I got a new PC today with 1TB of storage, but the problem is that it is not my main drive.
Like I need C to be D
105912

MyLegGuy
12-24-2015, 08:00 PM
Why not just put files on the D: drive? Nothing should stop you from doing that.

I don't really have a lot of experience with this, but maybe you could combine your C: and D: drives using the disk management utility.
But if it's an external drive then maybe you can't according to http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/294714-32-make-external-hard-drive-primary-drive .

iStolen
12-24-2015, 08:04 PM
Why not just put files on the D: drive? Nothing should stop you from doing that.

I don't really have a lot of experience with this, but maybe you could combine your C: and D: drives using the disk management utility.
But if it's an external drive then maybe you can't according to http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/294714-32-make-external-hard-drive-primary-drive .

Disk management utility? Where's that?
internal ftw

MyLegGuy
12-24-2015, 08:06 PM
What're you on? Windows 10?


Way 1: The easiest way to open Disk Management in Windows 10 is from Desktop. Right click on Start Menu (or press Windows+X hotkey) and then select "Disk Management".



For Windows 8, I just press the windows key (the button that opens the start menu) and R at the same time. Then I enter diskmgmt.msc .

thegamer381
12-24-2015, 08:10 PM
So you need the d? Or you need the c and the d?

iStolen
12-25-2015, 06:47 AM
So you need the d? Or you need the c and the d?

Is it possible to merge them to one?

CodeSky
12-25-2015, 06:50 AM
Is it possible to merge them to one?

It is somehow... *D0GE WHERE YOU AT BRO* you need use somekind of disk managing thingy

iStolen
12-25-2015, 07:06 AM
105981
What do I do when I'm here?

Where's D0GE when I need him? :cry:

iStolen
12-25-2015, 07:27 AM
go use that D: drive for your data. rename it to data or whatever, or just leave it blank like me lol
https://i.gyazo.com/8233da3bab97a6d58f7e890e8b20295e.png

I need to make it the primary drive, the drive that contains Windows' files. Like drive C

peck
12-25-2015, 07:36 AM
I need to make it the primary drive, the drive that contains Windows' files. Like drive C

Well first to have it be your primary you should have your OS installed on your new drive, and change the bios to boot from your new drive. Afterwards, if windows doesn't correct the primary/secondary drive for you, unplug secondary.

iStolen
12-25-2015, 08:31 AM
Why don't you reinstall the operating system?

Well, how does it make D: as default?

Conan
12-25-2015, 09:09 AM
Why not just clone the old harddrive to the new harddrive?
I also bought a 1TB hdd before and just cloned my old hdd.

Pretty much the best way .-.

iStolen
12-25-2015, 09:18 AM
Why not just clone the old harddrive to the new harddrive?
I also bought a 1TB hdd before and just cloned my old hdd.

Pretty much the best way .-.

How?
I downloaded an application which could like merge them but it's grayed out.
PC hates me.

ARGJHAGRJHAGRJHAR