PDA

View Full Version : So I'm getting an electric guitar...

syrup
04-24-2016, 08:34 PM
So I've decided to take up a hobby, playing electric guitar seems pretty neato, and I know with any instrument, it takes time, (I play the violin) so I'm asking for anyone out there who owns an electric guitar to help me answer some questions (based on what my knowledge of guitars are)

My dad could loan me his acoustic guitar and I could start from there, keep in mind this is my first time buying or even (seriously) playing a guitar so I'm asking...

Should I start with electric or acoustic?
Recommended AMP for beginners?
I'm left-handed, does it matter if I buy a right-handed guitar?
How long did it take you to play a song?

If you are recommending something, please let it be something from a guitar center, it's practically the only store I know that actually has some good guitars (as far as I know I heard that they're okay) so don't recommend something from an alien planet where the shipping costs more than the guitar.

I know everyone has a personally preference and everyone does everything in a different way that is more efficient for them, but I just wanted to hear some suggestions before I actually buy something.

If you're going to post some snarky comment about me searching it up on google, I'll tell you that I need info from people in the now, not from some 2004 bulletin board forum

YellowPepper
04-24-2016, 08:55 PM
#HelpSyrup

|ThyLuigi|
04-24-2016, 08:58 PM
So I've decided to take up a hobby, playing electric guitar seems pretty neato, and I know with any instrument, it takes time, (I play the violin) so I'm asking for anyone out there who owns an electric guitar to help me answer some questions (based on what my knowledge of guitars are)

My dad could loan me his acoustic guitar and I could start from there, keep in mind this is my first time buying or even (seriously) playing a guitar so I'm asking...

Should I start with electric or acoustic?