PDA

View Full Version : Fainting



Tuttle
04-27-2003, 04:49 AM
Fainting sucks - at least once a day FQ just stalls with those little bars flashing in the bottom right and I have to log in again. It really bites when you're nowhere near finished with some Super Rich person in a good mood. http://smilies.xibase.com/banghead.gif

Is there any chance that in a future version FQ will be able to accept network issues or whatever is causing this (along with PC crashes, power outages and anything else which would have the same effect) as facts of life and just let you pick up where you left off? I can't see any way to exploit it as a cheat, and it would let me get back to being frustrated at the way someone says $150 is too much and then I offer them $600 worth of stuff...

Death of Rats
04-27-2003, 09:33 AM
I completely agree... We have got to be that stupidist sales people around... http://www.rtsoft.com/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/smile.gif

Seth
04-28-2003, 11:23 AM
FQ disconnects are not really something I've been able to look at closely or have been able to duplicate.

Re-doing FQ's communication to support an error tolerant methodology would not be a small endeavor. :/ It does use TCP/IP which I thought would resend lost packets and insure proper ordering and such automatically but.. uh.. I dunno.

Tuttle
04-28-2003, 11:59 AM
The disconnects wouldn't be too much of an issue if there was no game penalty. Right now, when it happens and you re-login you get given bury points and tags as if you'd clicked the Done button instead of disconnecting. Worst case would be you get 5 bury points and a wood tag instead of 200+ and a gold tag. I haven't been disconnected during a fight yet, but I imagine the effects (automatic Run click when you're one Attack away from a 500 BP victory?) would be just as painful.

It'd be much better IMO if the current customer info (limit, mood, resistance etc) or fight info (HP, who has first strike) was all stored in the database with player info as you went, so after a disconnect and re-login you just get dumped back exactly where you were. No chance to re-roll a customer, go upgrade stats first or anything else - for all intents and purposes you never disconnected at all. The automatic closure would only have to happen if a day rollover occurred while you were disconnected.

I guess what I'm trying to say is I can live with the disconnects - it hangs, I click Reload and log in again, life goes on. Losing BPs and tags because of it is the really annoying bit.

Death of Rats
04-28-2003, 02:28 PM
Quote[/b] ](automatic Run click when you're one Attack away from a 500 BP victory?)

500?!? You must be a newbie.

Try the heart-wrenching loss of 5,000 or more... *sigh* Ah, well... it is only a game, and it's an equal opportunity freezer... Nearly everbody will get hosed some BP.

At least it comes up with the humorous fainting excuse instead of just "Connection was lost. Here's a megre wood tag and 5 BP. Loser." http://www.rtsoft.com/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/biggrin.gif

Tuttle
05-12-2003, 09:16 AM
Well, if you're interested Seth, I had a packet sniffer running this time around. http://www.rtsoft.com/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/smile.gif

The "disconnect" actually consists of 3 unanswered SYN packets at 0, 3 and 9 seconds, and then silence. So obviously Windows is trying 3 times and giving up, but Flash never decides to timeout. The TCP connection is never established so the usual transport-layer retransmission doesn't happen.

I agree that it's a pain to adjust network code around, but please give some thought to storing a little more state info in the database (yes, I just lost another killer customer on the first click...).

And at least now you know what's actually happening. http://www.rtsoft.com/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/smile.gif