Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Anyone using Microsoft Visual Studio Express with Clanlib?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Peasant
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    6

    Default Anyone using Microsoft Visual Studio Express with Clanlib?

    Other than having to manually set the additional dependencies:
    user32.lib
    Advapi32.lib
    gdi32.lib
    ole32.lib

    Are there any other things that clanlibbers should be wary of?

  2. #2
    Serf
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    4

    Default

    I don't think so.. been using ClanLib with it for some time now and never had any issues at all. Getting it to work with mingw32 is a pain (I never managed to do it, actually), but that's a different story.

  3. #3
    Serf
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    2

    Default

    No, I've found Visual Studio Express to actually work quite well. However I've had issues with optimize "whole" code, which I don't think is a Clanlib issue more then a dependant library issue...

  4. #4
    Master Sorcerer
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    554

    Default

    I do not use Visual Studio Express myself, but if it applies to all versions that you need to specify these additional Win32 libraries, then someone could make a patch in core.h, display.h, etc., which adds additional #pragma linker hints. Having these extra libs explicitly mentioned shouldn't cause any problems for the normal versions of Visual Studio.

  5. #5
    Serf
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    2

    Default Visual Studio Express

    Is there any place that has clear Visual Studio Express instructions?
    Seems like its far from working out of the box the Visual Studio express.

    --Matt

  6. #6
    Lesser Knight
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    41

    Default

    I remember adding something about it to the Win32 readme, but I'm not sure if its still there...

    Hmm, I just checked, and I don't see anything specific about it. Either it was removed, or I never submitted the patch.

    But, other than adding the mentioned dependencies, I think it works out of the box. At least, it works great for me

    BTW, I like that the web site is back up

Similar Threads

  1. The Microsoft Speech SAPI installer
    By in forum RTsoft Tavern
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-30-2004, 10:08 AM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •