Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: New Animations

  1. #1
    Peasant
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    9

    Default New Animations

    I'm trying to make a brawler/platformer mod and I'm having trouble getting new animations to work properly in the Tree World example.

    I tried hooking up an animation to player for air attacks and jumping, but no matter what I try I can't get it to work right. I'll attach my most recent update of the tree world example here in case anyone wants to check it out and offer some help.

    I did however manage to get double jump working along with the standard idle and run animations. The main problem I have with forcing new animations to play is that they won't play the reverse animations properly and won't stop looping the animation, unless its turned off in the xml file. I saw that the ladder animation also used a forced animation and was able to turn it on or off using the EnterLadderMode() and ExitLadderMode functions, but I could not emulate that with the CheckForJump and ProcessJump function that I added.

    It seems I can't upload the whole game so I'm just attaching the script file for the player instead. It has all the code I'm having trouble with.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Administrator Seth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Japan
    Posts
    5,377

    Default

    Hmm, I took a look at the script but I think to really understand the problem I'm going to need your whole world, with the actual art you're using.

    I suspect we need an OnForcedAnimLoop callback so the script can decide what to do when the end of the anim is reached.

    What was the problem with uploading the world? Did you zip it first? It should accept some pretty big files. I noticed Pleng uploaded an 8 MB zip.
    Seth A. Robinson
    Robinson Technologies

  3. #3
    Peasant
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    9

    Default

    I couldn't get the zip to upload, it has some error each time saying the download limit was exhausted, but the game zip file is only 3.56MB.

    I see what you mean by adding a OnForcedAnimLoop() function, but I'm not quite sure how to call this. I looked at an example of using an OnLoop function in the TopViewRPG_Test but didn't see where it linked in that function. It seems like that is the solution to what I'm trying to do.

  4. #4
    Administrator Seth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Japan
    Posts
    5,377

    Default

    I mean I would have to add support for an OnForcedAnimLoop() callback, it currently is not implemented for the ForceAnim brain in the engine itself.
    Seth A. Robinson
    Robinson Technologies

  5. #5
    Peasant
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    9

    Default I see

    Oh, well thats OK then. It would be nice to have support for that added, or full support for new animations in general.

    I still can't upload my zip file to this site. I'm using Firefox 2.0 and compressing the files using Winzip 8.0, would that matter? Or maybe there is another way to include files besides the Manage Attachments option that I'm unaware of.

  6. #6
    Administrator Seth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Japan
    Posts
    5,377

    Default

    Hmm, could you possibly try emailing it to me directly? ( seth @ rtsoft.com )
    Seth A. Robinson
    Robinson Technologies

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •