Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: help with weird collision bug...

  1. #1

    Default help with weird collision bug...

    hey seth...howdy shellerz,

    i'm working on a pacman clone. i'm using the original graphics just so i can get the mechanics right ie; movement, collision, chasing, warp tunnel...blah, blah, blah.

    i'm going to use the 'mechanics' in a different 'theme' once i get them working.

    i basically used the script from the 'dragon egg' demo for the player movement. i had to change the collision movement type to 'no bounce' and i made the collision boundary initially the size of the sprite, but i had to make it a little smaller because of a problem i was having with navigating the maze.

    but my problem is that when i start the game, the player moves about the maze sort of as you would expect, need to fine tune the movement i'm sure, but it will ignore some wall collisions and pass right through. then, after continuing through out the maze i can come back to a place where it was not working before and it will suddenly work correctly, but somewhere else will begin to do the same, including places that had worked initially.

    i'm not sure if i'm explaining the 'problem' clearly, so i included the files. novapac.zip
    i would welcome help from you or anyone else to figure this out.

    can't say it enough, but i love this engine. the fact that i could snatch the graphics from a google image search and then have this proto moving, albeit with a few kinks, in under an hour is amazing.

  2. #2
    Administrator Seth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Japan
    Posts
    5,377

    Default

    Thanks to your example I was able to isolate a nasty engine bug with collision (yay!), please download the new version of novashell I just put up, all borders should work correctly.

    The bug was with tilepics that had collision data that extended outside the visual area.
    Seth A. Robinson
    Robinson Technologies

  3. #3

    Default

    sweet,

    glad my err could help somehow.

    is the retaining of preferences/window settings fixed or will i be resetting them once i dl' the new version?

    thanks for the help and the great support you are giving all of us.

Similar Threads

  1. Collision Detection in SpriteRTS Example
    By manicmark in forum Official ClanLib SDK Forums
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-23-2007, 12:51 AM
  2. Collision bug in latest build
    By whisperstorm in forum Novashell Game Creation System
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-28-2007, 01:29 AM
  3. Somthin Weird
    By AntiLoveShadow in forum Dink Smallwood HD
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-26-2004, 12:52 PM
  4. Try my weird little game
    By Seth in forum RTsoft Tavern
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 03-29-2003, 08:34 PM
  5. Weird Redraw Bug
    By redink1 in forum Other RTsoft Games
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-14-2002, 10:51 PM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •