Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 21

Thread: Any techies?

  1. #1
    Master Sorcerer kwj340's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    2,048

    Default Any techies?

    Okay, so my laptop usually works fine, but now my CPU is at 100% and randomly shutting off after like 10 minutes of playing GT. I thought it was just overheating, and it might be but I just want to make sure that it's not something else.

    Anyone know why?

    P.S. Just being on chrome my CPU is at 60%. I have no idea if that's normal or not.

    EDIT: Agar.io is also at 100%

  2. #2
    Master Sorcerer syrup's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    ihop
    Posts
    3,309

    Default

    I thought this was about DOTA 2 :^(

    jk dota sux

    Check if svchost is the problem, it's usually a backdoor for bad stuff.
    clik dat lik if yous up!!


    ....why aint u clik lik??!!
    NO TIME TO SLEEP WHEN U DABBIN


  3. #3
    Master Sorcerer PannyFlan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    In the fridge.
    Posts
    3,287

    Default

    Like your laptop is shutting down by itself for no reason?
    If you using window 7, and you never the type to update their important updates, go update them.
    Did you have too much memory? Try to clear some space, and did you clean the thingy under the laptop, that collect the dust? Clean it out, and make the dust disappear.
    This happen to me before...
    To clean the dust, under your laptop, there is a lock key, and you unlock the key, then open the thingy that connect together with the laptop, and you see some dusts. Clean it with some light water, and dry it, and blow the dust out.
    Are you this?
    Private MESSAGE me, if you need help
    Check out my youtube channel!
    https://www.youtube.com/user/PannyFlans
    Latest video!

  4. #4
    Lesser Wizard Spiros's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    126

    Default

    Make sure nothing unnecessary is running. View running processes with Task Manager.
    Hope I could help!
    IGN : Spiros
    Always looking to make new friends!
    Check out my YouTube Channel : https://www.youtube.com/c/SpirosGrowtopia

  5. #5
    Master Sorcerer Bejewled's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    In A Black Hole
    Posts
    3,570

    Default

    Most likely virus.
    Try downloading process explorer and see if ya find anything.
    Quote Originally Posted by Solorien View Post
    I can't help it.. I have to mother everyone.
    But mom..

    My GrowTopian Info


    My Goals


    Awesome art of me by Chudy!


    #FireTemplar!🔥

  6. #6
    Master Sorcerer kwj340's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    2,048

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PannyFlan View Post
    Like your laptop is shutting down by itself for no reason?
    If you using window 7, and you never the type to update their important updates, go update them.
    Did you have too much memory? Try to clear some space, and did you clean the thingy under the laptop, that collect the dust? Clean it out, and make the dust disappear.
    This happen to me before...
    To clean the dust, under your laptop, there is a lock key, and you unlock the key, then open the thingy that connect together with the laptop, and you see some dusts. Clean it with some light water, and dry it, and blow the dust out.
    Where do I go to update? I'm a complete newbie when it comes to technology tbh. I'll ask my stepdad or brother to help with cleaning it out tho. But thanks

  7. #7
    Master Sorcerer PannyFlan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    In the fridge.
    Posts
    3,287

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kwj340 View Post
    Where do I go to update? I'm a complete newbie when it comes to technology tbh. I'll ask my stepdad or brother to help with cleaning it out tho. But thanks
    Usually for me, it sometimes show me a small speech bubble saying '' update your window blah blah etc '' stuff, you can check the updates thingy, on the right corner areas and find the window thingy...
    I can show you picture if you still confuse.
    Are you this?
    Private MESSAGE me, if you need help
    Check out my youtube channel!
    https://www.youtube.com/user/PannyFlans
    Latest video!

  8. #8
    Master Sorcerer Arcyus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    My house du uh
    Posts
    1,418

    Default

    It happens to my laptop too, it suddenly restart by itself without me knowing it then my laptop wants me to update thingy everytime when my laptop restart by itself ;-;.
    I ded.

  9. #9
    Master Sorcerer PannyFlan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    In the fridge.
    Posts
    3,287

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Arcyus View Post
    It happens to my laptop too, it suddenly restart by itself without me knowing it then my laptop wants me to update thingy everytime when my laptop restart by itself ;-;.
    Then go update thingy, it worked for me.
    I had to update more than 1k things, because I NEVER updated for a year.
    Took 5 hours to update.
    Make sure you clean the dust, that from under your laptop, and make the dust go poof poof.
    Are you this?
    Private MESSAGE me, if you need help
    Check out my youtube channel!
    https://www.youtube.com/user/PannyFlans
    Latest video!

  10. #10
    Master Sorcerer Arcyus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    My house du uh
    Posts
    1,418

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PannyFlan View Post
    Then go update thingy, it worked for me.
    I had to update more than 1k things, because I NEVER updated for a year.
    Took 5 hours to update.
    Make sure you clean the dust, that from under your laptop, and make the dust go poof poof.
    It keeps asking it even though I already updated it ;-;
    That's why I seldom use my laptop to do things, I am afraid my work lost (or unsaved).
    I ded.

  11. #11
    Master Sorcerer PannyFlan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    In the fridge.
    Posts
    3,287

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Arcyus View Post
    It keeps asking it even though I already updated it ;-;
    That's why I seldom use my laptop to do things, I am afraid my work lost (or unsaved).
    Did you clean your laptop thingy under your laptop? That could also be the problem.
    Do you have so much memory on your laptop? Go remove some stuff, if you need them, use a flash drive to save them.
    Are you this?
    Private MESSAGE me, if you need help
    Check out my youtube channel!
    https://www.youtube.com/user/PannyFlans
    Latest video!

  12. #12
    Lesser Wizard Hens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    413

    Default

    Please do not open your laptop. It might not open ever again.

    There is probably some dust in the way of the vents. Using a vacuum, if it's possible to "blow" instead of suck, use that. But if that's not a option, just use the vacuum at the vents to suck out as much dust as possible.
    When someone says something, it might be important.

    Read it, it may save your life one day.

  13. #13
    Master Sorcerer PannyFlan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    In the fridge.
    Posts
    3,287

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hens View Post
    Please do not open your laptop. It might not open ever again.

    There is probably some dust in the way of the vents. Using a vacuum, if it's possible to "blow" instead of suck, use that. But if that's not a option, just use the vacuum at the vents to suck out as much dust as possible.
    Oh a vent, but what that thing called when there a lock key, and when you unlock it, this thing pop off so you can clean the dust?
    Are you this?
    Private MESSAGE me, if you need help
    Check out my youtube channel!
    https://www.youtube.com/user/PannyFlans
    Latest video!

  14. #14
    Lesser Wizard Hens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    413

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PannyFlan View Post
    Oh a vent, but what that thing called when there a lock key, and when you unlock it, this thing pop off so you can clean the dust?
    You have a lock key?
    When someone says something, it might be important.

    Read it, it may save your life one day.

  15. #15
    Master Sorcerer Arcyus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    My house du uh
    Posts
    1,418

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PannyFlan View Post
    Did you clean your laptop thingy under your laptop? That could also be the problem.
    Do you have so much memory on your laptop? Go remove some stuff, if you need them, use a flash drive to save them.
    Hmmmm.... Maybe I need to take my laptop to the laptop expert guy.
    I ded.

  16. #16
    Master Sorcerer PannyFlan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    In the fridge.
    Posts
    3,287

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hens View Post
    You have a lock key?
    I don't know how to say this, but it have a small picture of a lock, and you can switch it to lock, or unlock.
    When it unlock, you can pop the thingy to clean the dust out, and out right back in and lock it.
    It under the laptop.
    Are you this?
    Private MESSAGE me, if you need help
    Check out my youtube channel!
    https://www.youtube.com/user/PannyFlans
    Latest video!

  17. #17
    Lesser Wizard Hens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    413

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PannyFlan View Post
    I don't know how to say this, but it have a small picture of a lock, and you can switch it to lock, or unlock.
    When it unlock, you can pop the thingy to clean the dust out, and out right back in and lock it.
    It under the laptop.
    I have a Toshiba Satellite
    When someone says something, it might be important.

    Read it, it may save your life one day.

  18. #18
    Master Sorcerer syrup's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    ihop
    Posts
    3,309

    Default

    If these were real techies they wouldn't be techies.

    alright
    clik dat lik if yous up!!


    ....why aint u clik lik??!!
    NO TIME TO SLEEP WHEN U DABBIN


  19. #19
    Master Sorcerer Festivity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    1,651

    Default

    Check if all the fans are working, if not, then that's probably the problem. Also don't let it heat up too much, or some of the components like the graphics card can get fried. I'm sure Conan the Savior will save the day, duh, I'm just a kouhai.

    Hope this helps!
    Festivity



    My Steam, feel free to add me:


    Growtopia IGN: Festivity, IGN 2: Neptunyu, IGN 3: Uzume
    League of Legends PH IGN: Eirudy
    Discord: Festivity#3041

  20. #20
    Master Sorcerer PannyFlan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    In the fridge.
    Posts
    3,287

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Festivity View Post
    Check if all the fans are working, if not, then that's probably the problem. Also don't let it heat up too much, or some of the components like the graphics card can get fried. I'm sure Conan the Savior will save the day, duh, I'm just a kouhai.

    Hope this helps!
    Festivity
    Conan is super duper smart.
    My uncle is 5x smarter than him though.
    Are you this?
    Private MESSAGE me, if you need help
    Check out my youtube channel!
    https://www.youtube.com/user/PannyFlans
    Latest video!

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •