Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: does anyone know how to build SDL for use with clanlib?

  1. #1
    Squire
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    23

    Default does anyone know how to build SDL for use with clanlib?

    Hi Rather than download the SDL pre compiled lib files for use with clanlib
    does anyone know how to build SDL so you can use it with clanlib?

    I am using VC 8.

    Many thanks

    richard

  2. #2
    ClanLib Developer
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1,824

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by babyvegas View Post
    Hi Rather than download the SDL pre compiled lib files for use with clanlib
    does anyone know how to build SDL so you can use it with clanlib?

    I am using VC 8.

    Many thanks

    richard
    (Note, the precompiled libraries were last updated 25 May 2009)

    http://clanlib.org/download/binaries-win32-vc90/ contains the source code that was used to compile the libraries.

    Download:
    http://clanlib.org/download/binaries....13-msvc90.zip

    You may also need sdlgfx:
    http://clanlib.org/download/binaries....19-msvc90.zip

    The SDL package contains:
    include --> A copy of the headers required for ClanLib
    lib --> A copy of the precompiled libraries required for ClanLib
    SDL.sln
    SDL.vcproj
    SDLmain.sln
    SDLmain.vcproj
    src --> The original SDL package

    Since you are using VS8, exit SDL.vcproj and SDLmain.vcproj (using notepad) Version="9.00", to Version="8.00"

    Remember, you need to enable the SDL target, via a checkbox in the ClanLib's configure.exe app.

  3. #3
    Squire
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    23

    Default

    Hi thanks for the quick reply.

    Right, Ive downloaded the sdl 1.2.13 -msvc90 and compile it and it
    creates a load of object files, but what I actually want to know
    is how do you create all the lib files for use with clanlib from this.

    ie. as an example, in the zip file you sent me, theres a directory called lib
    and in it SDL-static-mt-debug.lib, so how do I create this ?

    If i build the solution it doesnt create these files?

    many thanks

    richard

  4. #4
    ClanLib Developer
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1,824

    Default

    It should do!

    Look in the Debug directory with the object files, it should contain the SDL-static-mt-debug.lib

    The solution does not "copy .\src\Debug\static-mt-debug.lib .\lib", it is not that clever.

    Note, when you batch build the solution, it creates: Debug, Release, x64/Debug and X64/Release and DebugDLL etc (for when the runtime library is Multi-threaded DLL)

Similar Threads

  1. Build System ?
    By zyklo in forum Official ClanLib SDK Forums
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 09-22-2008, 02:00 PM
  2. How To Configure IDE VisualC++ 2008 Express to Build ClanLib
    By THULE in forum Official ClanLib SDK Forums
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-28-2008, 09:50 AM
  3. How to Build Clanlib documentation on FreeBSD?
    By NVanGogh in forum Official ClanLib SDK Forums
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-13-2008, 11:04 PM
  4. build clanLib on vc6.0 error
    By silekey in forum Official ClanLib SDK Forums
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-11-2007, 05:18 AM
  5. build clanLib on vc6.0 error
    By silekey in forum Official ClanLib SDK Forums
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-11-2007, 05:16 AM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •