Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Weird display output?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Squire
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    16

    Default Weird display output?

    Hi. I am semi-novice programmer, and I am trying to write my first small videogame (an educational game), using ClanLib 2.0. The code runs great on my more powerful amd64 Gentoo system at home, but when I compile and run it on my 32 bit Dell Inspiron Mini 10v netbook, the display output is messed up: more specifically, the game seems to run exactly the same, except that most of the images/lines drawn on the screen do not display. Both systems have similiar OS configurations, except the the Dell Mini of course has the cheap Intel graphics card, while my amd64 system has a good NVIDIA card.

    I'll provide a link to the code, in case that is any benefit. I installed ClanLib 2.0.4 from source, and passed ./configure with flying colors on both my systems.

    http://indicium.us/cgi-bin/pages/get?view=lusus

  2. #2
    ClanLib Developer
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1,824

    Default

    Can you try compiling the alpha test of the next clanlib release:
    http://www.rtsoft.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2953

    It uses dlopen() for opengl. it's is possible, that is fixes intel cards problems

    Intel cards are known to cause problems with opengl on linux - Unfortunately no ClanLib developers have access to intel cards on linux, to see if there is a fix.

    (I haven't looked at your source, so I assume that you are using the GL1 display target.)

  3. #3
    Squire
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rombust View Post
    Can you try compiling the alpha test of the next clanlib release:
    http://www.rtsoft.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2953

    It uses dlopen() for opengl. it's is possible, that is fixes intel cards problems

    Intel cards are known to cause problems with opengl on linux - Unfortunately no ClanLib developers have access to intel cards on linux, to see if there is a fix.

    (I haven't looked at your source, so I assume that you are using the GL1 display target.)
    I'm downloading that now, and I'll give it a try.

    To be honest, I don't know what the "GL1 display target" is, but I followed the online clanlib 2.0 tutorials pretty closely, if that is the default.

  4. #4
    ClanLib Developer
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1,824

    Default

    Look at the Basic2D example.

    // Choose the target renderer
    #define USE_OPENGL_2 <--- (GL target) OpenGL 2.0 and Above
    //#define USE_OPENGL_1 <--- (GL1 target) OpenGL 1.3
    //#define USE_SOFTWARE <--- (GDI target) Software based renderer
    //#define USE_SDL <--- (SDL target) SDL library renderer

    (Note SDL library target renderer is available as a separate package to ClanLib, and is considered obsolete)

    (Remember to change the library used in the makefile as well)

Similar Threads

  1. help with weird collision bug...
    By harrio in forum Novashell Game Creation System
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-24-2008, 12:59 PM
  2. Builds successfully, but doesn't output correctly...
    By LeegleechN in forum Official ClanLib SDK Forums
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-07-2007, 03:10 PM
  3. Somthin Weird
    By AntiLoveShadow in forum Dink Smallwood HD
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-26-2004, 12:52 PM
  4. Try my weird little game
    By Seth in forum RTsoft Tavern
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 03-29-2003, 08:34 PM
  5. Weird Redraw Bug
    By redink1 in forum Other RTsoft Games
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-14-2002, 10:51 PM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •