Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Problem with lightmaps.

  1. #1
    Lesser Knight
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    51

    Default Problem with lightmaps.

    Hi.
    I'm using gile[s] to generate lightmaps for my level , 5 lightmaps in tga format.
    They don't work with proton on my samsung galaxy s 2 , I get a plain map without any lighting, but it works in irrlicht on my pc.

    Any solution or a particular lightmapper I should use ???
    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Administrator Seth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Japan
    Posts
    5,380

    Default

    Hmm.. well, first I'd try the RT3DApp example on it, does it look ok? For the 3D scene example I'm using a dual texturing, the normal texture along with a lightmap, that was generated in 3dsmax and output to the b3d model format (no custom loading/settings need to be done at all, the model format just works).


    If that works, than at least you know it should be technical possible under GLES 1.X to have two texture units working and may be a problem with the model format instead or something. (Something as simple as the file not being found?)
    Seth A. Robinson
    Robinson Technologies

  3. #3
    Lesser Knight
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    51

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Seth View Post
    Hmm.. well, first I'd try the RT3DApp example on it, does it look ok? For the 3D scene example I'm using a dual texturing, the normal texture along with a lightmap, that was generated in 3dsmax and output to the b3d model format (no custom loading/settings need to be done at all, the model format just works).


    If that works, than at least you know it should be technical possible under GLES 1.X to have two texture units working and may be a problem with the model format instead or something. (Something as simple as the file not being found?)
    Yes RT3DApp works beautifully on the phone , rarely drops below 60fps.
    I'm using b3d format as well, have tried replacing the house level in the example with my level, and I get the same thing plain map...

    I will try 3dsmax when I have the time.
    Thank you for the reply, appreciate your work on this sdk

  4. #4
    Administrator Seth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Japan
    Posts
    5,380

    Default

    A good way to debug things is use a GLES 1.X driver with Proton under Windows with MSVC ide - it's setup this way in all the examples apps as the build profile "Common Debug" - (there are several GLES 1.X drivers that should work)

    It's possible the same problem will show up there, making it 1000 * easier to fix than trying to debug under Android. (you CAN debug under the Android emulator as well.. but I found it to be a bit slow..)
    Seth A. Robinson
    Robinson Technologies

  5. #5
    Lesser Knight
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    51

    Default

    I'll try 3dsmax when I have the time.
    Last edited by darkchazz; 07-06-2011 at 03:12 PM.

  6. #6
    Lesser Knight
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    51

    Default

    I managed to get it working using gile[s] by reducing the amount of lightmaps to only one.
    This time I used png format , and increased the size from 256x256 to 512x512.

    Here is the result:






    quality is acceptable.
    damn triangle selector and collision response animator eat the frame rate , I suppose irrbullet fix that ???

  7. #7
    Administrator Seth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Japan
    Posts
    5,380

    Default

    Bullet will probably make things slower actually... What I'm doing is creating a separate simplified collision mesh (in 3dsmax, using cubes and planes) and using that for the collision, helps a lot.
    Seth A. Robinson
    Robinson Technologies

  8. #8
    Lesser Knight
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    51

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Seth View Post
    Bullet will probably make things slower actually... What I'm doing is creating a separate simplified collision mesh (in 3dsmax, using cubes and planes) and using that for the collision, helps a lot.
    ahhh

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •